Last night was the first night (EVER) that we didn't have children with us.
My mom had her annual "Sweetie Santa Sleepover" for her granddaughters, and assumed that my girls would join in the morning (like usual).
But Kid was kind of interested in the sleepover... and very interested in not missing out on the night activites (hot cocoa and a movie) and for some unknown reason Baby was VERY interested in sleeping over.
This is a child who has yet to sleep through the night without parent intervention.
But she does love her eldest cousin... and... had been making her gifts all week... and wanted nothing more than to sleep with her.
So we packed them up and my mom drove down to pick them up.
Before they left Kid (who has not yet made it through a sleepover said...
"I'm not so sure about this"
We reassured her our phone would be by the bed! She could call and we'd get her at any time! You might really like it! You can sleep with your sister!
Then Mr F and I didn't really know what to do with ourselves.
We hurried downtown to see 127 Hours. Yikes! Mr F could barely watch it. Be forewarned if you have body injury/self mutilation fears... this movie is NOT for you.
It was fucking freezing out.
Mr F wanted to move back to North Carolina. (we jest).
We wandered around a bookstore looking at things the girls would like.
We went to a fancy dessert restaurant... even though I was just wearing my dirty yoga pants... whatev.
We laughed at a lady wearing one of those crazy fur rich lady hats.
We commented on how weird it was not to have to be home at a certain time.
We went home.
There was nothing on TV.
"You know, I really don't need my kids to be away at night." I said.
Mr F agreed.
We got ready for bed.
"Do you have your phone!" Mr F said anxiously.
"By the bed." I replied.
"What about the house phone!" He continued.
"By the bed." I replied.
We got in bed.
We looked at the clock.
"They're probably asleep by now." I said.
I opened a book. (about Mormons of course)
Mr F watched videos of the kids on his iPhone. (for real, peeps)
When we thought we might have crossed the hump of the kids freaking out (1 AM) we went to sleep.
We both slept fitfully, worried we might have to get up and drive the hour plus drive in the middle of the night.
But they never called.
Showing posts with label trust me... it is a very weird feeling when your kids aren't at home the first time... very weird. Show all posts
Showing posts with label trust me... it is a very weird feeling when your kids aren't at home the first time... very weird. Show all posts
Saturday, November 27, 2010
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

